delighted heart

. . . proof that delight in the Lord uncovers the desires of the heart

organic, healthy living… Our beginning July 8, 2009

Filed under: Healthy Living — Laura Kelly @ 10:45 pm

I’ve been “into” the organic, what’s-really-in-the-food-that-you-eat lifestyle for about 6 years now.  All of this was opened up when our first son started having continual ear infections at the tender age of 5 mos.  So, when the doctor insisted on tubes at a year old, I asked him to give me 3 mos.  I researched everything I could get my hands on.  I realized that with the introduction of cow’s milk, things were even worse for my sweet boy.  And, I did all this with the knowledge that I was allergic to milk as a child and still do not tolerate it really to this day.  I cut dairy completely out of my diet (I was still nursing) and never gave him cow’s milk in a bottle again.  Initially, we went “raw”: Eating mostly raw fruits and vegetables, some eggs, and limited chicken and fish, no red meat–for 3 mos. I can honestly say that was the time that I had felt the best in my entire life… and hey, I lost the baby weight too!!

The hardest part was that this lifestyle is not “normal” or “accepted” as a way of life in our American culture.  I had to learn to stay out of the middle aisles of the grocery stores, shop at local growers and farmers markets, and find the grocery stores that stocked organic, natural foods.  It was well worth it.  Now, it truly is our lifestyle. Thankfully, there were other families around us, and that we were in ministry with, that were starting their own journeys toward the same end.  I had support and ideas and wasn’t all alone.  That’s what I want to offer through a series of blogs about our experience and the things that have evolved over the last 6 years for us.

I will blog more about our journey in the next few days, but I started all of this in my excited anticipation of the movie that has already started showing in theatres across the country.  You can watch the trailer to Food, Inc., The Movie and start your own educational journey!  It’s changed our life and we are the better for it.  Oh, and we aren’t completely crazy about this (yet?  You will see us in fast food places here and there)… my kids eat fast food sometimes and we splurge on things, but overall, my pantry is filled with natural and organic.  YOU CAN DO IT!!!

I promise.

 

One Response to “organic, healthy living… Our beginning”

  1. amber dawn Says:

    Saw on the FB you had a blog, so I had to check it out! This is really interesting, and I would love to read more about how you do it. So, I’ll stay tuned! Loved your posts!


Leave a Reply

